This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

DCEDC Website Logo

School Board


Russell Dial
Johnette Mansur
David Mitchell
Denver City Heritage Museum
Cody Williams
Robbie Underhill
Brad Woosley

Gary Davis

DCISD Superintendent

The Denver City ISD Board of Trustees and Region 17 Honor Board of the Year for 2016,
has been selected as a finalist for Texas State Honor Board of the Year

“I am so excited for these men and women who serve our school district”, Superintendent Gary Davis said. “They are a collaborative team that works to support quality education for the students of our community. Individually, they come from varied backgrounds and offer unique perspectives. As a group, they are committed to what is best for our students, our teachers and our staff. I am honored to work for such a fine group.”

Each year, regional selection committees submit nominations for state competition. Boards are evaluated on their abilities to: function as a policy-making body; adhere to adopted board policies; support educational performance in accordance with state-established standards; support educational improvement projects and school transformation initiatives; commit to a code of ethics; provide financial support for the district; participate in workshops; to place welfare of the children above personal or political motives; engage in community awareness and maintain harmonious and supportive relationships among the board.

All 20 regional honor boards are recognized at the TASA/TASB Convention, which takes place in Houston this September. A committee of TASA Superintendents will interview the top five honor boards and select the 2016 Texas Honor Board of the Year, which will be presented on Saturday, September 24 at the convention. The finalists included: Denver City ISD; Saginaw-Eagle Mountain ISD near Fort Worth; Lancaster ISD, near Dallas; Schertz-Cibolo ISD, near San Antonio; and Robstown ISD, near Corpus Christi.